Le Baron de la truffe

Trufficulture unites all my passions: nature, agriculture, dogs, the Rabelaisie and the luxury industry, which has been my professional domain for almost 20 years. I planted my first truffle field in 1996 upon the advice of my trufficulture friends, the Monniers (who have a farm in Marigny-Marmande) and the rest, as they say, is history. My farm is currently around forty hectares and I have no intention of calling it a day now, as it's going so well. This is a long-term project since one needs to wait nearly ten years before harvesting. The truffle is a diva, capricious and rare!

I am a truffle grower: I grow and sell truffles, uniquely from my fields, which means that the consumer can be sure about their absolute freshness and guaranteed origin. My farm is 100% organic and is located in Touraine, one of the oldest producing regions of Tuber melanosporum ("melano"), the famous "black PĂ©rigord truffle". The soil in this region is excellent, thanks to tuffeau - the local stone. I also harvest Tuber brumale and Tuber mesentericum or Meuse truffle. Moreover, I shortly hope to offer Tuber magnatum, the famous white Alba truffle. I do sometimes also harvest Tuber borcchi.

I have two terrific truffle dogs. I roam across the truffle field with them, closely observing their behaviour. With their nose to the ground or up in the air, they seek out scents from under the earth. When they scratch the ground with their paw, that is the signal for me to jump in to harvest the truffle and extract the precious fungus. And for them to be rewarded!

Le Baron de la truffe

La trufficulture recoupe toutes mes passions : la nature, l’agriculture, les chiens, la Rabelaisie et mon univers professionnel depuis près de 20 ans : l’industrie du luxe. En 1996, sur les conseils d’amis trufficulteurs, les Monnier dont l’exploitation se situe à Marigny Marmande, je plantai ma première truffière et je n'ai eu de cesse de continuer. Aujourd’hui mon exploitation avoisine la quarantaine d’hectares et je ne compte pas m’arrêter en si bon chemin. C’est un travail de longue haleine ; il faut attendre près de 10 ans avant de récolter. La truffe est une diva, capricieuse et rare !

Je suis producteur de truffes : je produis et vends les truffes, toutes issues de mes champs ce qui garantit au consommateur une fraîcheur absolue et une origine garantie. Mon exploitation est 100% bio et se situe en Touraine, l’une des plus anciennes régions productrices de la « Mélano », la fameuse « truffe noire du Périgord ». On y trouve d'excellents terroirs grâce au “Tuffeau” - la pierre locale. Je récolte également de la Tuber Brumale et de la Tuber Mesentericum, aussi appelée truffe de Meuse. J’espère proposer bientôt de la Tuber Magnatum, la fameuse truffe blanche d’Alba. Il m’arrive parfois de récolter aussi de la Tuber Borcchi.

J’ai deux chiens qui sont des caveurs hors pair. Avec eux, j’arpente la truffière en surveillant leurs attitudes. Nez à terre ou truffe au vent, ils sont à la recherche des effluves provenant des profondeurs. Quand ils marquent le sol de leur patte, c'est le signal ; à moi de "caver" (récolter la truffe) pour extraire le précieux champignon. Et à eux la récompense !